| TBR THURSDAY |

It’s time for a new sneak peak in my endless TBR stack in this TBR THURSDAY article! In last weeks edition, I showed you guys two fantasy books I recently bought and I’m very excited about. Today I picked two TBR books that have been on my shelves for quite a while now.

In this article – which I want to publish every Thursday – I’ll be highlighting a title from my shelf (or eReader) I haven’t read yet and I’m going to ask you guys what you think about it … Have you read it? Should I read it or put it back on the shelf?

I was looking for a new book meme article to post every Thursday and this one looked really nice. I love writing interactive articles in which you guys can leave comments and I’m really excited to read your comments about the books I’m going to show you in my TBR Thursday articles!

The first book I want to show you is named DEMON ROAD by DEREK LANDY, the first book in the Demon road series. This is a YA paranormal/urban fantasy/paranormal series.

Full of Landy’s trademark wit, action, and razor-sharp dialogue, DEMON ROAD kicks off with a shocking opener and never lets up the pace in an epic road-trip across the supernatural landscape of America. Killer cars, vampires, undead serial killers: they’re all here. And the demons? Well, that’s where Amber comes in…Sixteen years old, smart and spirited, she’s just a normal American teenager until the lies are torn away and the demons reveal themselves.

Forced to go on the run, she hurtles from one threat to another, revealing a tapestry of terror woven into the very fabric of her life. Her only chance rests with her fellow travellers, who are not at all what they appear to be…

I came across this book when I was in London a few years ago for 1 pound and reading the synopsis made me really excited to read it and for That price, I just couldn’t leave it behind now, could I? Right. And since then, I’ve read many great reviews about the first book of the Demon Road series, but I haven’t picked it up to read yet. There were other books coming in between every time and I have yet to find the right mood to start this book. It’s been in my thoughts many times already so maybe I’ll pick it up soon.

The next book I want to show you is one I bought months ago. It’s called THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT by MELISSA GREY. It’s a YA urban fantasy/magic/paranormal series.

Magic lives in our darkest corners.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else, she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants…and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

I’m really excited about this one. I love reading more about the Firebird legend. I came across some of it in Hunted by Meagan Spooner and I’m very excited to see how the Firebird is represented in this book. I’ve heard great things about this book so far, and the rating on Goodreads isn’t bad either – 3.74 with 7000+ ratings – so we’ll see what this book brings. It’s said to be for fans of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone books, so I’m extremely curious to see what I’ll think of this book! Hope I can get around to read it sometime soon!

Have you read any of the books I’ve showed? LOVE to hear from you!!

  • Name a title that’s been on your TBR for ages now, that you’ve wanted to read badly but just haven’t gotten around to reading yet.

7 Comments

  1. The Girl at Midnight keeps intriguing me, might need to buy at some point haha.
    Most books that have been on my tbr for over a year are second books in series and thrillers or adult fantasies I got really cheap haha. One book that comes to mind is Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake. This weekend might be the perfect opportunity to read it!
    Isabelle onlangs geplaatst…Tag|HalloweenMy Profile

    1. Author

      Ohhh Girl of Nightmares!! It’s on my Halloween tbr and I’ve wanted to read it this month but haven’t gotten around to read it yet haha. I loved Anna Dressed in blood and I’m so curious to see how the story continues in the sequel!!
      melissasbookworld onlangs geplaatst…| TBR THURSDAY |My Profile

    1. Author

      just… ugh.. WHYYYYYYY do you do this to me *insert whiny sound* buwhaha you really are just as evil as maleficent you know? buwhahaha cruel thing..


  2. De serie Het rad des tijds van Robert Jordan staat al verschillende jaren ongelezen in de boekenkast. Ook Alle verhalen van Roald Dahl staat daar al erg lang. Maar het zijn zeker niet de enige. Ik heb nog wel wat leeswerk voor de boeg. 🙂
    zwartraafje onlangs geplaatst…Zwartspreuk – Claudia GrayMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge